Permanent deletion of users

The EU General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR) Article 17 provides data subjects (i.e. your users) with the right to erasure, also known as the ‘right to be forgotten’.

By default, when users are deleted in Award Force, they are "soft deleted", meaning their user account is moved to a kind of "trash can" where it can be retrieved if necessary. So, that's not permanent erasure, nor forgotten.

If one of your users requests permanent deletion of their data, you can do this as follows:

  1. Go to the Users section
  2. Find the user record by searching / filtering and click through to their user record
  3. On the first Profile tab, there is a button to Delete this user permanently...

    Capture_d_e_cran_2018-05-24_a__14.40.42.png
  4. That takes you to a choice of three deletion options explained below

    Capture_d_e_cran_2018-05-24_a__14.42.05.png
  5. To avoid accidental deletion, you need to manually enter in the full name of the user as confirmation of the delet
  6. Press the Delete button to finalise
Warning: After pressing the delete button, the deletion is immediate and permanent. There is no way to recover any of the selected user data.

Depending on the stage your season/program is at when you permanently delete a user, there may be entry data and judging data for that user, perhaps even final results. You're obliged to delete the user's personal data, but you may wish to retain the judging data associated with the user, to maintain the integrity of judging results. Furthermore, depending on the terms of your program, the content of the user's entry (other than personal data) may be able to be retained by you. To deal with all these considerations, you have three options for how to treat permanent deletion:

Option 1: Wipe user data, keep user's entries, keep judging data

  • All the user's personal data is permanently deleted from your account *.
  • The user's entries are retained, completely intact, but the reference to the entrant user account is removed.
  • All judging data (assignments, scores, comments) related to the entry is retained and still reflected in leaderboards.
  • Judging of the user's entry can still continue if necessary.

Option 2: Wipe user data, wipe user's entries, keep judging data

  • All the user's personal data is permanently deleted from your account *.
  • All the content of the user's entries is permanently deleted, but a pseudonymised "shell" of the entry remains, for judging data to relate to. The entries will still show up in Manage entries and in Leaderboards, etc, but the entry name is replaced with the slug (8-letter code).
  • All judging data (assignments, scores, comments) related to the entry is retained and still reflected in leaderboards.
  • Judging of the user's entry could still continue if necessary, in theory, but the judges will see nothing of the user's entries.

Option 3: Wipe user data, delete user's entries, delete judging data

  • All the user's personal data is permanently deleted from your account *.
  • All the user's entries are permanently deleted from your account.
  • All the judging data related to the user's entries is permanently deleted.
  • Results for these entries will disappear from judging views and from leaderboards.
* When a user's personal data is permanently deleted from your account— if that user was a participant in another program hosted with Award Force, there will still be some of the user's personal data on the Award Force system (their name and email/mobile). They would need to separately request permanent deletion of their personal data from the other programs, if that is their wish. If the user is indicating they want permanent deletion of their data from all programs on Award Force, please refer the request to the Award Force support team.