Prevent entry creation in a category

Program managers have a variety of reasons to prevent entries from being created within a category, such as: 

  • You might want to continue testing newly added categories after entries have opened and not want entrants to enter it just yet 
  • A specific category is accepting entries for a shorter period of time than the others
  • You have more than expected entries in a category and the entry period is still open

The process of closing a category to prevent entrants from seeing and selecting it is easy! Just follow the steps outlined below.

Tip: if you simply need to prevent users from editing an existing entry after it has been submitted, navigate to Settings > Entries > General and select the Entries locked after submission checkbox before clicking Save.

Deactivate the category

  1. Navigate to Settings > Entries > Categories
  2. Click your desired category's name
  3. Within the category's Details tab, untick the Category is active checkbox
    Screen_Shot_2021-06-16_at_9.10.13_AM.png
  4. Save

As a program manager, you can still view this category and create a test entry. When doing so via Entries > My entries, you will see the category listed within the category selection dropdown, but it will be labeled as (inactive for entrants). Rest assured, your entrants cannot see this category or message. 

Screen_Shot_2021-06-16_at_9.11.47_AM.png

Reactivate the category

When it comes time, you can follow these steps to make the category active once again.

  1. Navigate to Settings > Entries > Categories
  2. Click your desired category's name
  3. Within the category's Details tab, tick the Category is active checkbox
  4. Save

For more information on categories, see our guide: Category configuration.

Need more help? Get in touch!

We're here to help if you need it. Simply get in touch with our Client Success team through one of the methods available at the base of the page.